Impact or Impression?

Philippians 4:6 Be careful for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.
Awesome sermon tonight by Dr. Charles Stanley, who spoke on prayer and how it is essential to a ministry leaders personal life, leadership, teaching and relationships. He talks about preparation for a sermon, during the sermon and after the sermon. He asked the listeners if they wanted to make an impression, or if they wanted to make an impact?
What is the difference between impression and Impact?
Impression – A vague notion, remembrance, or belief. People say that first impression are important and they are but regardless if you started out on the wrong foot it is never too late to change someone’s perspective, right? Impression seems to be more temporary than impact. Now, what does impact mean?
Impact-influence; effect, meaning that through impact you can cause an actually change in yourself or someone. Jesus did not come to earth to leave an impression something someone would barely remember. Jesus came to earth to make an impact so of course He would want His children to do the same. Dr. Stanley had pointed out another thing that is very important. He talked about the spokesman would usually go through the things that they were about to preach about, so they would go through it first. They themselves would have to let God impact them in their lives first before they could impact others’ lives. These are signs that the spokesman was on their knees (literally in prayer) before, during and after the sermon:
Faithful-steady in allegiance or affection; loyal; constant
Fruitful-producing good results; beneficial; profitable
Fearless-without fear; bold or brave
Fervent -having or showing great warmth or intensity of spirit, feeling, enthusiasm
Imagine living a life in such a way that you would be faithful, fruitful, fearless and fervent. God wants this for us but it all starts with prayer and when you pray make sure you are ready for the answer because God is always faithful to answer your prayers. It may not be what you wanted to hear but know it is something that you must so brace yourself for the impact God will give you so that you may impact others.

Our church purpose is:
To present the Gospel of Jesus Christ in such a way that turns non-Christians into converts, converts into disciples, and disciples into mature, fruitful leaders who will in turn go into the world and reach others for Christ.
This could only be possible through prayer, supplication and thanks to God because without Him nothing is possible. Yet, as leaders as we pray we have to brace ourselves for the impact that God will make through us as a leadership team and as individuals because we will be the prime examples of what God’s love and strength can really do.
As a believer and woman, I long to be those four F’s for Christ. Faithful to God, Fruitful in every little thing so that He can trust me with bigger things, Fearless to know my identity in Christ and going forward to remember if God is for me then no one can stand against me, and Fervent to be on fire for God once more so people no longer see me but Christ shining through me. Yet, God keeps reminding me to pray and get ready for the impact. It honestly has not been the easiest thing being a believer in Christ but I guarantee you it is more than worth it. I mean if you really think about it, what good ever came of taking the easy way out? My prayers lately have just been for Gods will to be done and honestly I would not have it any other way. God wants to impact our lives more than we could ever imagine not with harsh trials but with all the fruits of the spirit so we in turn can share that with others. As for my Youth leaders, I pray that God will help you through your trials but remember stay in prayer and get ready for the impact because we are about to be used for the impact of Christ on the Youth at our church. So…LET’S DO IT. See you all tomorrow.
Dear Lord,
You, my friend, are hilarious and I love you. Thank you for another day of rest, I knew I needed it but you know I’m stubborn as well. Sorry about that. God, thank you for all that you do in my life I am more than happy to just pray and leave everything to you. I pray Lord, that as I pray I get ready for the impact that you will have on me. Just as Nehemiah made an impact on the builders of the Jerusalem wall, I pray to have the same impact on your people. God, keep me humble and on your path of righteousness. Please, give me the strength to overcome my constant battle with my weight and confidence. Give me the words to say whenever people ask or say things about you. There is a time for everything Lord but I rejoice that no matter what time it is I can always pray and talk to you. Father, I lift up the leaders of our church, watch over and protect them always. I ask for strength and courage among our Youth Leaders especially God because they will be the ones helping the generation be on fire for you God. Renew our souls, spirit and body to more like you, Jesus. We trust in You always. In your Holy and Precious Name, Jesus Christ, Amen.

2 thoughts on “Impact or Impression?

  1. […] Impact or Impression? (christianconnect.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

