Just Show Love

John: 34-35 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

In John 13, Jesus was known that his time on this earth was coming to an end. So, as He and his disciples got ready to share the Passover meal, Jesus wanted them to know exactly how much he loved them. He got knelt down and began to wash his disciple’s feet. Peter tried to reason with his master that he didn’t want to get his feet washed. Yet, the Lord explained that if He did not allow Him to wash Peter’s feet then he would have no part of Jesus. So, after His disciples feet were washed, he explained that because if He himself as there teacher and master could wash their feet, they in turn could wash each other’s. “Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him” (vs. 16) Next, he predicted Judas betrayal to show that He is the son of God and that God knows all things. He mentions that one of his disciples would betray him. They questioned who would betray him, so he handed a dipped piece of bread to Judas, and from there Judas ran to out into the night to fulfill his betrayal. Then, He announced that He would not be with them too much longer, but where he is going, they could not go, so the last command He gave them was to love one another as He had loved them.

When we think of love now days we think of the warm, fuzzy feeling inside that makes us feel nice, which is good but it must go beyond a feeling. Just like in John 13, Jesus was willing to show His servants how much He loved them by being a servant as well and washing their feet. They didn’t have cars; most of the traveling was done by walking. So the dirtiest part of someone back then, was more than likely their feet. Yet, Jesus, Our Master and Teacher loved them so much that He didn’t care how dirty their feet were, He was going to wash it out of love and an example on how to love others. Even when He mentioned that they would be a betrayer among them, He did not shout out, “Judas, you are going to betray me!” Jesus simply handed him a dipped piece of bread and told him “What you are going to do, do quickly.”(vs.27) Even as the chapter 13 comes to an end, Peter tries to see where Jesus is going and that He wants to come, and tells Jesus that He would lay His life down for Him. Yet Jesus tells him that before the rooster crows, Peter would deny He ever knew Jesus three times. Betrayal was in the air but it did not stop Jesus from showing His love to His disciples in turn we need to do the same.

I love being in love, the warm fuzzy feeling, the butterflies in my stomach, the funny conversations we would have and the constant thoughts of that one person that made me feel this way. Yet, I would try to do more than just keep the feeling inside, I would constantly think of random and spontaneous ways to show my love for them. For example, my boyfriend at the time came back to Las Vegas after visiting Hawaii and at one of the high schools here has a hill that overlooks the city of Las Vegas. Well, I set up a table and chairs at the top of hill so we had a candle light dinner with a beautiful view, without spending an arm and a leg. He thought it was cute but during that time I wanted something sentimental and thoughtful like that from him as well (regardless, I personally should not have EXPECTED it back from him). But, that was a good example to show love but an even better lesson to not expect it back. So, now that Jesus is the reason for this warm fuzzy feeling, butterflies in my stomach, long funny conversations, and  constant thoughts of Him in my head, I want to show His love every chance I get. He doesn’t expect a candle light dinner on a hill top, but I may think of doing that one day soon, just don’t tell him that. Showing his love is as simple as helping someone with groceries to their car, assisting with making meals for a family whose mother is going through recovery, or just saying hi with a genuine smile on your face and asks how they are doing to a complete stranger on the street or the sales clerk. Yet, now I don’t expect anything back from that person or God, it just feels nice to share plus it means even more when you do get something back because you least expect it.

How has God shown you love over the years?

How can you show Gods love to others?

When you do something nice for someone do you expect something back from it or are you just happy to do share?

Dear Father God,

I Love you. Thank you for loving me enough to share your love with me daily. Praise you that you allow me to show your love daily. Father, I’m so thankful that you love me enough to give me everything I needed (not what I wanted but needed) over the years of my life. I’m thankful for my life that you can use for your purpose. I’m thankful for the roof over my head, the food I eat, the water I drink, the clothes that I wear and the car and gas that you can use to help others with. Praise you Lord for all the opportunities that you have opened up for me, I have faith that the missions I will go on for you will be an exciting adventure for You and I. Thank you for the mighty men and women you have placed in my life to be there for me for support and wisdom. Thank You Lord for being the center of my life and blessing me with Your presences every day. I pray Lord that we all do more than feel your love but show it always. I pray this for Your world, Your nations, Your churches, Your schools, and Your people. I ask Lord for protection with your full armor so we can brace ourselves from the attacks of the enemy. Lord, please renew our mind, soul, and body to reflect You. Praise you God for this day that you have made. Love you Father. In your Loving and Holy name, Jesus Christ. Amen

Leave a comment